Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_3559
So, my daughter is nine…going on nineteen. Seriously, I knew I would have to deal with these types of issues….but I thought I had until at least middle school. I was wrong. She takes forever to pick out an outfit in the morning because everything has to somehow coordinate with everything else she’s wearing for the day. After that half hour debacle, it literally takes another half hour to brush teeth, wash face, do hair, and put on lip gloss. Wait, did I say lip gloss? I’m sorry, I meant my Sephora lipstick….and cover-up….and eyeshadow. She learned that lesson on her own when she wore it and three unrelated adults told her she was too young for make-up. Good, one issue solved. She also has an Instagram account. Hence, I am on Instagram. Sorry, but I need to monitor who she’s talking to and what they are talking about—for her own safety. It’s through Instagram that I have really noticed this silly “BFF” thing. I have seen it around, obviously, but I didn’t realize how seriously these little girls take this stuff. I wonder why they have to have one best friend. I had a best friend growing up, but we never announced it to the world and we had other friends that we played with sometimes and no one got mad or jealous or anything even remotely close—it was just life. Now, girls feel slighted if someone goes out with someone else and they weren’t invited or told about it. It’s kind of nonsensical if you ask me. First of all, why can’t all the girls just be friends? Why do they feel the need to label everything and everyone? Why can’t they be nicer to each other…and themselves, frankly? Looking at the situation as an adult, I see qualities of a “BFF” in many people. My “BFF” when I need to laugh may be completely different from my “BFF” when I need solid advice. There may still be another “BFF” for when I’m depressed and still another for when I feel like going out to have some fun. The notion that one person has to fit all these situations seems dumb to me as an adult. But, again, I remember when I was a kid and we just “were” if that makes sense. We were able to just “be” with each other. Maybe I was just lucky. Maybe I grew up with the kind of friends who didn’t really care who went with whom to the mall on Saturday as long as everyone bought something nice. Maybe I grew up in a time where friends were genuine and experiences were real and compassion was not an anomaly. Or, maybe my daughter and her circle are just kids of today….going through typical tween stuff….and I only notice it because, as a parent of today, I have to monitor everything she does for her own personal safety. Either way, it’s different now and not in a good way 😦

