Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lola After Surgery:(

Lola After Surgery:(


“….like walkin’ in the rain and the snow when there’s nowhere to go….”
Sorry, I couldn’t resist. My love of reading and writing is second only to my love of music of all genres. Anyway, we were talking about the things we do for our dogs. Really, it’s ever so slightly below the things we do for our kids. I’ll give you a few quick examples:
First, as sweet as she is, Lola is a tad rambunctious. So, we decided to take her to puppy class. Unfortunately, there were no classes close to my house, so every Thursday for seven weeks we drove across the state to take her to class. I would pack up my daughter and her “stuff” and ship her off to gymnastics(in the total opposite direction, mind you). Then, my son and I would rush home, scarf down supper, pack up Lola and her “stuff” and drive to class. The car ride with a rambunctious puppy is always an adventure itself–especially in the middle of winter in New England. We would stay for one hour and the trainer would patiently try to teach four dogs the most basic of basic training skills. Lola mostly just sniffed around and lay down underneath my chair the whole time. After class, we would pack up the dog and drive home in the dark–yay–so much fun. At the end of the training, after all the time, effort, and money, Lola learned “watch me” and “sit”. The trainer put a graduation cap on her and she was done. Personally, I would have failed her, but I think the trainer didn’t want us to feel bad.
Lola at graduation

Lola at graduation


Next, we got the dog spayed. It is the responsible thing to do as a pet owner. They only do operations on Tuesdays and you have to drop off the dog at 7:30 am. Since I have two munchkins to get up, fed, dressed, and on the bus for school, my husband had to go into work late and take Lola to the vet. She came home later with the cone around her head. I wished there were a cone for my head when I saw the bill! I was supposed to keep the cone on for two weeks. We took it off after one week, though, and she was fine. However, the first couple of days, she wasn’t able to climb stairs. We live in an up & down house and we sleep upstairs. Lola sleeps in our room. She weighs 36 pounds. So, for two days and nights, I carried this puppy with stitches up and down the stairs. The first night, she had to go out at 2am. My husband was dead asleep(or pretending to be) so there I was with no lenses, a wounded animal and 14 stairs to descend. I picked her up and carried her down and outside. Turns out, she didn’t have to go after all. So, back up the stairs we went, the dog awkwardly dangling in my arms and me praying to God I would make it up the stairs without falling backwards with her in my arms. Thankfully, she healed and had no complications from the surgery.
Lola Playing Twister

Lola Playing Twister


Finally, since Golden Doodles need lots of exercise and we have a big backyard, we need an Invisible Fence. More cones please for my head–you cannot believe how expensive it is once you add up installation, collars, batteries and, of course, training lessons. Yesterday morning we had our first lesson inside. They start inside because they don’t want your dog running off into oblivion never to be seen again on the first day of training. After the trainer assembled all the gadgets and flags, she placed the collar around Lola. I have to admit, she caught on very quickly at a very low “zap” level. She mostly responded to the sound. I am very glad she learned in this class. We have homework for our next class, though, and I feel like I do when my kids have a test!
So, even though she is a handful….and she IS a handful, we love her and we treat her almost, almost, almost the same as we treat each other! Oh, who am I kidding, it’s my husband’s birthday tomorrow and he is getting a card from me, from the kids, and from Lola πŸ™‚

