Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

ugh....makes me shudder

ugh….makes me shudder


So, it is the end of Reading Week at my children’s school. I participated in this blog by writing my own poem for “Poem In Your Pocket” day and I read a novel. Normally, I don’t go for romance novels. I’m more of a Stephen King kind of gal. 11/22/63 is one of my favorite books of all time. But, I didn’t have the time to read another thousand page book. I have been hearing about this “Fifty Shades of Grey” for a year now and everyone is always raving about it. So many of my friends and people I know have read all of the books in the series. So, I broke down and decided to read a romance novel.
Well, first, I was reminded why I don’t read romance novels! But, let’s put that aside. I think I am the only female I know that did NOT like this book. In fact, I was repulsed by it. I was disturbed at the slapping and when it got to the point of him hitting her with the belt, I felt physically sick. I cannot see how anyone would think this was a love story. To me, it was a story about a jackass who took advantage of a girl and physically and emotionally abused her. I would not read the other books if someone paid me–that’s how bad I thought it was.
Now, before people start getting crazy, I was never physically abused by anyone. I was never raped, molested or abused in any way by any person. So, my perspective coming into this is solely as a reader. I guess you could argue that the author is a good writer because she made the reader feel strong emotion. However, I think the content is demeaning to women in general(unless that’s what you’re into) and I cannot wrap my head around the women who wish there were a real Christian Grey. When I was on Facebook, they would always do polls as to which actor would play him in the movie. Are you kidding? I am about empowering women not demeaning and diminishing them and turing them into objects for sexual gratification. I don’t know, maybe it’s me. Maybe I’m a prude. Maybe I should lighten up. I just don’t think beating someone up is the way to get their love. Now that reading week is over, I will go back to my mystery novels and non-fiction material. I am glad that I read the book, though, because it gave me an insight as to just how far we’ve come……baby.

