Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

My Little Guy

My Little Guy


Well, I’ll be darned. Sometimes, our kids listen to us. It’s an amazingly rewarding feeling when that happens because it happens so infrequently!! You’ll remember yesterday I told you my son was having issues with another student who was tripping him and calling him names. I told him to confront the student and tell her to stop. He did. She did not stop. I told him the next step was to tell his teacher. Remember I also said I did not want to intervene if I didn’t have to intervene. I want my children to learn the necessary skills to defend themselves without violence. I want them to learn this on their own with my guidance so when they are older they will be able to handle themselves without “running to mama” every time something happens. The older you are when you do that, the worse the bullying usually becomes. So, I asked my son if he told his teacher yesterday. He said that he had and that the teacher spoke to him and to the student. I was hoping he really did speak to her and he wasn’t just saying it to avoid conflict. I received an email from his teacher later that night. She basically told me exactly what my son said to her and how she handled the situation. She had my son repeat the scenario in front of the girl. The girl admitted to doing it. The teacher told the girl that she was a witness to the situation now. After she sent my son back to his seat, she spoke to the girl. She told her that when someone tells you to stop teasing them and you don’t that is considered bullying and it is not tolerated at the school. She also told the student that she would be checking in frequently with my son to make sure the behavior stopped. Additionally, the teacher said, she sat with the class at lunch because that is when the incidents usually happen.
I am satisfied with the response and swift action by the teacher. I already said yesterday that this isn’t a humungous issue, but it wouldn’t have been wise to let it go in today’s society. And, no one wants to feel uncomfortable at school.
I am most proud, though, that my son actually listened to my direction and told the teacher. I know I’ve said this before but it continues to amaze me and it is worth repeating: Our kids really are listening to us. Let’s really try to give them our best. They didn’t ask to be here. We owe it to them to raise them right. We owe it to them to be their first and best teachers.
Just as an aside, I tried to add the link to yesterday’s blog but it didn’t work. I followed the instructions but it did not add the link. I should have gone to computer school 🙂 Yesterday’s blog title is “Rachel’s Challenge At Lincoln Central” if you want to read it.

