Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Olivia & Grayson Reading At The Airport

Olivia & Grayson Reading At The Airport


It’s Reading Week at my children’s school. They are doing all sorts of fun activities and reading all kinds of interesting books. There is even a “shut off the tv and read” challenge in which my son is very interested. Of course, there is a prize to be won. The most interesting of all events, however, is taking place today. It’s called “poem in your pocket” day. The children choose a favorite poem they have read and they write it on a small piece of paper. Then, they fold the paper and keep the poem in their pocket for the day. At different times, they take the poem out and read it–either out loud or to themselves. I love this activity….except when I realize after I’ve washed their clothes that we forgot to take the poem out of the pocket. This has happened three years in a row. I’ll have to make a note to myself to take the paper out of the clothes before they go into the washing machine. Anyway, I thought I would write a poem today. I may even write it on paper and put it in my pocket for the day.

The House On Coggeshall Street

“What?”, you say.”I’ve never heard,”
“Of a poem about a house, that’s absurd.”
It was more than a house, it was a home,
Where happiness lived inside the dome.
There lived a happy family of seven,
Inside those walls lived a slice of Heaven.
Their life was peaceful and safe and sound,
But once they left, trouble would abound.
The patriarch would die a semi-sudden death,
Downward spirals left them catching their breath.
The children would marry and then divorce,
It seemed they could not keep their lives on course.
Some had children of their own
And some taught school–children on “loan”.
Pieces of a puzzle the six who are left
Feeling like the seventh was a victim of theft.
But when they think about Coggeshall, these six who remain,
There are such happy memories that they form a chain.
A chain of happiness, a chain from the past,
A chain of protection around that house that will last.
The chain will last until each link is laid to rest
And their puzzle is complete with the one who taught them best.

