Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My Home State

My Home State


So, I read a headline yesterday that said Rhode Island is the unhappiest state. I only skimmed the article which basically said unemployment was a major factor as we have one of the highest unemployment rates in the country.
It made me wonder about unhappiness, in general. I’m sure plenty of people everywhere are unhappy for a variety of reasons. One of those reasons could be what I call the “Pretend” factor. See, there comes a time when you need to stop pretending. I know much of our social lives and workplace lives are filled with pretending–whether it’s pretending to like the people we are hanging out with or pretending to like our job or our boss. But, there comes a time when “make believe” doesn’t cut it anymore. When your personal life is a big facade and it’s all pretend and nothing about it is real then it is time to take a look and admit that no matter how hard you tried (or didn’t) that it’s just too exhausting to make believe anymore. I know a few people who do just that. Their lives are a total mess but everything looks picture perfect from the outside and that is all that matters to them. At some point, though, it will all come crashing down and the facade will be all that’s left. Because when the smoke is gone and you have to look in the mirror then your reflection will show you reality—and it won’t be pretty. Nothing good can come from trying to put a square peg in a round hole-only frustration, confusion, and the ultimate conclusion that a tarnished reality is a more peaceful existence than a pretend fairytale. Just sayin’
Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

