Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Olivia On Beam

Olivia On Beam


This thing we call life is a major balancing act. The slightest interruption in our routine could send us spiraling out of control if we are not equipped to handle it. I thought about all of the things that go on in the course of 24 hours in my life. It is absolutely fascinating to think about–you should really try it sometime. You would be amazed at all of the things that happen throughout the course of a single day. You would be amazed at how much multi-tasking you do and how much is accomplished in a 24 hour span of time. But, if a wrench is thrown into your vibe, you could be paralyzed for the rest of the day.
Yesterday was a perfect example. Lola went to the vet to be spayed. I was going to do fifty million things while she wasn’t there and I did not have to rush home to let her out or feed her. I had my whole day planned. I dropped the kids off at the bus stop and went to the first store on my list. Amazingly, Walmart was not crowded with the usual registry of motor vehicle type people! In fact, there was hardly a soul in the place. I could actually push a cart through an aisle and not have to rush because I was afraid the idiot behind me was going to slam into my ankles with their carriage. No sooner did I get through the second aisle, the SECOND aisle, and my phone rang. The school secretary was calling to let me know that Olivia forgot her contact lenses and could I bring them to school as soon as possible. I knew they were having national testing today in grade four, so I knew I had to get there pretty quickly. I was leaving the cart and walking out the door and my husband called. Apparently, he forgot a telephone number at home this morning as he was taking Lola to the vet. And while I was at it, could I just grab some half and half and bring it to the office. Oh, and one more thing–could I please take a document from his office to the accountant down the street. Thanks.
I knew my day was finished before it even started. My plans were going to be ruined. I was going to spend my day running other people’s errands. I went home, got the lenses and drove to the school. As soon as I walked in, the principal came barreling around the corner to inform me that national testing was going on and the “federal” people were here and would not unlock the doors until testing was finished. I gently reminded her that her secretary called me–not vice versa. Long story short, I had to leave her lenses with the nurse so she could attempt to put them in after testing. I dropped off and picked up at my husband’s office and ran his errand. I then drove to a potential site for my store and dialed the number. I left a message to which no one returned my call. I am not trying to be rude, but it is the tenant who pays the rent and not the real estate agent.I don’t know why these people don’t return telephone calls. Needless to say that while I did a hundred things, nothing really got accomplished yesterday. I also assumed(silly me) that since our dog was first to be dropped off then she would be first to be finished. Not so much. I could not pick her up until well after the kids got home from school. If I had not learned years ago (and through lots of therapy–seriously, I have diagnosed OCD) coping techniques to deal with these types of situations, I would have totally shut down and gone home for the entire day. I had to reach waayy back into the bag of tricks I learned years ago. I am happy to report that I was able to make it through the rest of the day and take care of Lola and the kids for the rest of the night. It’s important but also difficult to balance every aspect of life day in and day out. It’s even harder when you expect a routine and that routine is disrupted. But, if you can learn how to balance everything–even your understandable anger and frustration– it makes the act of balancing itself a little steadier. Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

