Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Fig Tree

Fig Tree


Please believe me when I tell you that I’m really not that religious. I am kind of a wedding/funeral Catholic. My son is making his First Communion this May, so we have to do the whole CCD thing and go to Mass every Sunday (and sign in nonetheless…we trust you but…..).
Anyway, the only reason I even understand the Gospel is because of our priest. He has a way of breaking down the meaning and relating it to life here in 2013. Yesterday, it revolved around a bunch of people asking the question in the title of today’s blog. A couple of unfortunate incidents happened in the town and everyone kept asking, “Why us? Why here?” The explanation basically was that it really doesn’t matter why. Those people in those unfortunate circumstances were no better or worse than any of the rest of the townspeople. Misfortune just so happened to strike them. The priest was saying that God doesn’t zap people who do bad things. Bad things happen sometimes. He’s looking for how we handle the situation. He’s looking for us to grow spiritually from it. There was also a parable about a fig tree that never grew any fruit. The farmer wanted to cut it down but the gardener promised to really fertilize it and cultivate the land and could the farmer please check back next year for he was confident there would be fruit. We are supposed to be the tree. We are continually given opportunities to grow. We shouldn’t squander those opportunities.
The overall concept reminded me of Dr. Phil. “Ok, surely she’s lost her mind”, you are thinking. I am but that’s beside the point…..and stop calling me Shirley:)
When Oprah was going through her beef cattle issue, Dr. Phil was part of her team. She kept asking him,”Why? Why me? Why is this happening to me?” His response has always stuck with me. It’s always in the forefront of my mind when I find myself in a rough situation. He said, “It doesn’t matter why. It IS. And, you better get in the game or they’re going to have your head on a plate.”
My point is that whether you are religious or not, sometimes bad things happen to good people. There is often no explanation and no reason. How you handle that situation is what ultimately matters. You have to make a choice. You can either wallow in your own self-pity and ultimately self destruct or you can deal with the situation at hand. It’s hard not to ask ,”Why?”, I know. I’ve found that dealing with bad situations in small increments of time works best for me. A day at a time. If that’s too long, then a half day at a time. Too long? Ok, then an hour at a time. Whatever it takes to keep moving forward. It might not ever get easier, but it will become at least bearable. And, if you can learn something, repent, and grow spiritually because of it, then that’s all the better for you. Happy Shopping.
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

