Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Me, Dad & Lynn Circa 1978

Me, Dad & Lynn Circa 1978


Where does your soul go when you dream? I’ve always been intrigued by dreams, in general. I’ve wondered exactly what they are, why some seem so real, and the reason behind recurring dreams. We’ve heard all of the explanations regarding dreams and what they mean. We’ve heard the scientific and the astrological. We’ve heard people tell us what dreams mean, we’ve read books that analyze dreams by subject or by topic. We know what information is out there and we have our own pre-conceived notions on dreams and their worth.
I’ve had many crazy dreams in my lifetime and so have you. I’ve had some that are vivid and some that I can barely remember. I’ve even had the same dream a couple of times. Here’s what I wonder: when we dream, do our souls leave our bodies and really go to the place in which we are having the dream? I think they might. I’ve only had one dream in my entire life that would make me believe in such an unbelievable concept.
My father died when I was 15 years old. He had lung cancer. It was a six month deal–start to finish. He was 47. Being almost 42 myself with kids of my own it’s kind of tough to fathom. He left a wife and five children. I’ll write about my mother’s strength and struggle in another blog at another time.
You can imagine that was a difficult time for all of us. I had many dreams about my father for the first few years after his death and he always seemed to be mad at me for something. Then, the dreams stopped. They stopped for about a year and a half. Then, when I was in my early twenties, I had a dream about my dad. It was a cool fall day and we were standing on the front steps of my house. I was closest to the door. The sun was setting a blazing orange behind him and I somehow knew he couldn’t stay. He was wearing his tan trench coat and tan cap. I said, “But, you never said you loved me.” He said–and I heard his voice--, “Of course I love you. I always will.” He touched my face with his hands. I felt them. We hugged. I felt it. I woke up. It was gone. Over. Done.
The dream lasted about 20 seconds. I have never had a dream so vivid or intense before or since. I was completely aware of every nuance of the moment. I still am and it’s been over 20 years since the dream. So, could we explain it away with rationalization? I guess. I have had dreams about him every now and then before and after that one. Could we just say that it “seemed” real? I guess. Could we say that it was just more vibrant than all the others? I guess. But, here’s what I think. I think our souls met up for that brief second in time. For that brief moment between the existence of the living and the dead, I think our souls touched. In that briefest of brief seconds, everything that had to be put right was done. It was done on the universal plane of which it was required—what I mean by that is that dead people don’t typically just show up on your doorstep. The medium through which our souls needed to connect was that dream at that exact moment in time.
Maybe this doesn’t happen all the time. Maybe souls only leave and come back on a “need to know” basis. Maybe it isn’t something that even happens to everyone. Or, maybe it does, and some people don’t or can’t recognize when the moment is occurring in their lives. I don’t know the answer. I know a lot about the usual essays that have been written about dream interpretation from both the scientific standpoint and the “dreamer” standpoint–no pun intended. I really think , though, that in some circumstances, our souls leave our bodies to do what is required of them. I believe mine left my body ever so briefly that night to meet up with my father’s to set things right. And, that notion has brought me much peace in my life. It has also given me hope about what comes when it is time for our bodies to rest eternally.
Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

