Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_2755
One of the observations I’ve made over these winter vacations is that kids today don’t have a clue how to entertain themselves. Yesterday was the only day I didn’t make any specific plans for the kids since they both had practice in the late afternoon. As soon as they got up, the questions started rolling in.”Where are we going today? What are we going to do today? Can we go to Target? Can we go buy something?”
I thought back to my own childhood. We didn’t “go” anywhere and we certainly didn’t buy anything. And, it occurred to me that maybe we just over schedule our kids. When they are home, they don’t know what to do with themselves. They have their iPads, iPods, video games, computers—you name it–they have it, and they are STILL bored. I had none of those things. First, they didn’t exist, and second, we couldn’t afford them if they did. Still, I was never bored. I played with my dolls and toys. I played with my friends. I was home a lot. My parents had five kids–they didn’t have the money to put us in every sport and activity that came along. So, it’s my own fault for trying to give my kids more than I had. I created monsters, so to speak, that don’t know what it is to just “be.” They need to be doing something every second or they become irritated and bored. Then, the good old fashioned fighting with each other begins which is so much fun:)I don’t know if it is just me that feels like she’s in a catch 22. Anyhoo, it is already Thursday and they are scheduled through Saturday, so the fighting with each other(and me) should be slightly less than yesterday. Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

