Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you’ve been following me lately then you’ve got issues….HA, I’m kidding. If you follow my posts, you know I’ve been struggling and juggling a new business with a family. Additionally, several people have either asked me if I take consignments or told me I should open a brick and mortar store and begin taking consignments as well as what I do now. Remember that discussion I had with Larry where 2+2=chair?
Well, based on the website activity this weekend, and running into several people suggesting consignment again, I am happy to report that I am now somewhere between a hundred and forty-seven and a recliner!
Seriously, I have so many questions running through my mind like How Will I:
Take care of the kids
Man the store
Volunteer at the school
Go food shopping
Clean the house
Go to Disney in June
Shuffle the kids back and forth to the Dreams Come Tueorthodontist because, of course, they both need braces
Do everything else that needs to get done
Have a life
So, that hockey player I was talking about in the title? His name is Wayne Gretsky. I’m not a huge hockey fan; what with the puck and the teeth splattered all over the ice and all; BUT, he is arguably the best ice hockey player of all time. Want to know what he said? “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”
Pretty profound statement, I think. Now, I have always been a risk taker-just my nature. The list of things I’ve taken risks on run the spectrum from personal to educational to financial, to employment, and everything in between. The specifics are not important (plus, there isn’t an internet superhighway big enough to fit them all), but some of them worked and some of them didn’t–plain and simple. So far, the web boutique is working. Why am I so afraid, then, about moving it to a physical place? Who knows? Can’t be the fear of failing because every failure is an opportunity for you to learn and grow. Can’t be the investment because even though it is substantial, I will not go broke because of it. What I do know, though, is that Wayne Gretsky is right. If I don’t at least take the shot, I’ll never know whether it would have been successful. I’m still at the gathering information stage, but once I have done my homework and answered the above questions in a satisfactory manner,if it looks like a risk worth taking, I’m going to do it. I’m going to do it because that’s who I am. I would never, ever be where I am in life today if I never took risks. And, for all the risks that failed, I’d say I’m not so bad off for trying. Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

