Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For all you Don Mclean fans they aren’t the Father, Son and Holy Ghost, although they are high on my list. I’ll explain. I was driving my son to CCD Sunday morning and “American Pie” shuffled its way through the speakers. As I was driving mindlessly to Cranston (not totally mindlessly, I mean my eyes were on the road) the last part of the song came into focus. That is probably because it has always been one of my all time favorite lines from a song. It’s hard to explain, but at that moment an image of my father passed through my mind. He’s been dead for 26 years. It’s funny because like two seconds later, I saw my husband’s image and then my son’s face. And I thought these are the three men I admire most. I am going to tell you why as it relates to this new journey on which I am traveling.
First, we’ll start with my Dad. “How’s that?”, you ask, “he’s been dead since you were fifteen.” Because of a little thing called good parenting ,(which 90% of the time I do not possess), I am able to make decisions in my adult life based on what he taught me as a child. He taught me to never, ever stop trying. He taught me to never, ever give up. He taught me to follow my heart no matter where it leads me. He taught me that every mistake is just an opportunity for success once you learn the lesson. He taught me to believe in myself–even if no one else did. So, based on his 100% great parenting, I am moving forward with my journey to find completion in my soul.
Next, we’ll discuss my husband. Make a copy of this folks because it is one of the only times I will ever give Larry the credit he deserves. There is a big age difference between us. He married me way later in life. He knew I wanted children–somewhere inside he did, too, but it never worked out. He took a chance –we have two beautiful kids. These are his only kids. He started a family at the age of 57. He could have cruised along to retirement, but chose to start a life with me instead. He has supported me through every decision I have made, and he really did try switching roles so I could go to law school. I can’t blame him for not being able to do it–I can hardly do it and I’m 25 years younger than him. It turned out, though, to be a blessing. I have so much passion for what I am doing now, and he is so incredibly supportive –even to the point of encouraging me to open my own physical store. He has that much faith in me. Wow.
Finally, there’s my son. Yes, he drives me nuts. He’s a typical eight year old brat half the time. The other half of the time, though, he is hugging me, telling me he loves me, and telling me that he thinks I can do anything I want to do. He is very excited and proud that his mom owns her own store and might even have a real storefront to go with it. He looks at my business cards, my print ad, and my merchandise and always has something positive to say to me.
So, there you have it. The three men I admire most….only in this scenario, they did NOT catch the last train for the coast. They are by my side every day–even Dad–I feel him around me and I know he is guiding me from Heaven. Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.comOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

