Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As much as I like to think that I am Wonder Woman(whom I sometimes dress up as but that, my friends, is an entirely different post for an entirely different blog), I have come to grips with the fact that I simply cannot do it all. I can’t launch the store, contemplate a brick and mortar, raise two kids, six birds, one dog, and one husband without a little help. I have to say that when Larry is home, he is really there if you know what I mean. He engages with the kids, plays with them, takes them where they need to go–he even helps with showers and bedtime. The problem is that he isn’t home much. Why? Well, he is the sole breadwinner –plain and simple. I understand that and I have tremendous respect for his stamina(get your head out of the gutters sillies), his drive and his work ethic. But, I really need help managing the kids when he’s not here. My mother and sisters are absolutely wonderful at helping, too. They are always, and I mean always there when I need their help with the kids. But, they have their own jobs, lives, and families. Now, we’ve already established that I’m not a “nanny” kind of gal–ready for another Seinfeld reference–” not that there’s anything wrong with that.Adrianna & The Kids” So, there’s this young woman whom I’ve known since she was born. She’s 21 now(Oh, God, I’m getting old). I have known her mother all my life as a matter of fact. Her mother used to babysit me when I was little. They are both very good friends of my family. So, I thought to myself,”Why not ask Adrianna if she wants to look after the kids on a Saturday morning and a night during the week so that I can get some stuff done and the kids aren’t bored or killing each other or both?” She agreed and she started yesterday morning. I have to tell you, she is an absolute angel. Not only is she beautiful on the outside, she is just as beautiful on the inside. She is patient and kind and just a wonderful influence on the kids. They had so much fun today and they can’t wait for her to come back. Broken foot and all, poor thing, she hobbled around and played games with them and really interacted with them. I am so impressed with the integrity of such a young woman. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner, but I’m glad it’s happening now because it helps me with my stress level–even though I really like those Wonder Woman bracelets..oh and the crown—and it helps my kids engage with someone who is really interested in them and their lives. It is going to be an enriching experience for everyone, I think. I also think she would be a tremendous elementary school teacher. Just sayin’. Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

