Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

imageAnyone who knows me is well aware that Seinfeld is my absolute favorite show of all time. I think I may have even been Elaine Benes in another life! They surely based her character on me. In fact, there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t quote at least once from the show. Yesterday was no different.
“What’s for supper?”, my husband asked when he called me at lunch(which he has done every day for the past ten years) “I don’t know, I’ll figure out something”, I said, annoyed now at this idle chit-chat. “What are you doing?”, he asked. “I’m working – doing 20 things at once.”, I replied. Next comes the trigger. Are you ready? “What could you possibly be working on? Just wait for someone to buy something.” Here’s where my beloved Seinfeld comes in to the picture.”This isn’t Vandelay Industries you idiot! This isn’t a pretend store! There’s tons of work to be done! I can’t believe you would say something that stupid-you own a business yourself.”
For those five of you who didn’t watch Seinfeld, Vandelay Industries was a made-up company George used when he was either trying to get a job or impress women. It didn’t exist and the nature of this pretend business changed depending on the circumstances. If anyone ever asked for the number, he gave them Jerry’s number. Jerry would answer the phone and pretend he was the manager & give George glowing recommendations. Most of the time, though, Kramer was somehow at Jerry’s house with no clue of what to do. He would say something dumb when the phone rang and hilarity ensued.
But, this is a real store. It’s online. I need to take pictures of and describe every single item. I have to tweak the page layouts, set prices, handle shipping and customer service and the list goes on and on. Oh, and that’s not even counting the phone time wasted talking to credit card companies and banks. All this and raising two kids, a dog, and six birds while keeping the family on its flow. Not easy, but I’m Lovin’ it.
So, if my husband wants to know what’s for supper then he can make it because I “can’t spare a square” (of my time, that is) at the moment. Happy Shopping:)
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

