Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

imageThose of us who are of a certain age have all heard that song. In fact, some of us even reference it when speaking about certain parents we know. Ok, my son didn’t turn ten the other day and ask for a ball. But, he did turn eight and he did ask for a piano and lessons. He loves music, so we got him a keyboard, which he plays constantly, and we signed him up for lessons. Every day he’s been asking me to listen to what he’s learned and watch him play. I find myself saying things like, “There’s too much to do”, or “I’m too busy.”, or, “Later on.” Well, since I started this business, “Later On” doesn’t seem to exist. But, my son gives the same response every time, “Ok.” For some reason while I was on the phone taking care of business stuff, that song popped into my head. And, no, it’s not because they played it while I was on hold πŸ™‚ I could hear him practicing his lesson in the other room. Suddenly, I fast forwarded 20 years and imagined myself on the phone with him. He was telling me he’d love to see me if could find the time. I heard him telling me his new job was a hassle and his kid had the flu, but it was sure nice talking to me. Rather than hang up the phone and have it occur to me that he’d grown up just like me, I hung up with the bank I was on hold with and went to my son. I looked at his practice books, watched him with his finger practice, and listened to him play. His eyes lit up in a way I haven’t seen in awhile. Listen, there is always something else you could be doing, especially when you first open a business. But, your kids will grow and you can never get those years back. So, I have learned another jewel along this new journey–set limits. Work hard, yes, but go to the game, the meet, the lesson and really engage with your kids. The work will be there when you’re done and the kids will feel important and loved. Those are hard concepts to try to build with them once they’re grown. Happy Shopping πŸ™‚
<a href="<a href="http://www.myupscalegaragesale.wordpress.com” x-apple-data-detectors=”true” x-apple-data-detectors-type=”link” x-apple-data-detectors-result=”1″><a href="http://www.myupscalegaragesale.wordpress.com” x-apple-data-detectors=”true” x-apple-data-detectors-type=”link” x-apple-data-detectors-result=”2″>http://www.myupscalegaragesale.wordpress.com” x-apple-data-detectors=”true” x-apple-data-detectors-type=”link” x-apple-data-detectors-result=”1″><a href="http://www.myupscalegaragesale.wordpress.com” x-apple-data-detectors=”true” x-apple-data-detectors-type=”link” x-apple-data-detectors-result=”2″>www.myupscalegaragesale.wordpress.com

