Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have been so engrossed in getting this business of the ground that you would not recognize the inside of my house right now. There was laundry everywhere, the dishwasher was full and the fridge was empty. Not to mention I needed to give the puppy a bath and do my weekly cleaning of the birdcage- we have 6, yes 6 parakeets in a 5 foot by 5 foot cage. You could fit a grown man in there, I swear! Oh yes, plus the usual vacuuming, dusting, bathroom cleaning, sheet changing duties that usually take up a whole Saturday. “What the hell did they burn their bras for?”, I thought. Now, we have to do all this PLUS work! But then I thought about that sense of fulfillment I’ve been telling you about. So, I did what needed to be done and after the kids went to bed, I devoted time to working on the store. And, even though I was tired, I was happy. So, kudos to the women before me who made it possible to not only go to college and graduate school, but to be business owners and contributors to society. And, on this Martin Luther King Jr. Dayimage

imageimagey, I see how far we’ve come there, too. Yes, we still have a long way to go, but when I look around and see the diverse group of people in my life and the diverse group of my children’s friends, it makes me smile. Color and race, religion don’t even cross our minds. “Content of character…” yes, it’s a work in progress worldwide, but in our little piece of the world where I live, we are already there and that’s a beautiful thing. Happy Shopping.
http://www.myupscalegaragesale.goodsie.com

